Thoughts on the draft…

A few days ago I was called Un-American because I do not support the draft and will avoid signing up for it as far as possible. Now I don’t actually care about the comment; it’s just a product of the baseless nationalism that we have to deal with. And considering the comment came from a very close friend, I don’t actually care at all. But it did lead me to put forth a few thoughts upon the subject, in the meantime while I form together entries (on subjects suggested by you, the reader…!) which will take a bit more time to write.

There have been several reasons, cited to me, on why it’s necessary not only for it to exist, but also for me to add my name to the rolls when I come to that point. Most have been just silly (The form even proclaims “IT’S THE LAW” as if that is supposed to convince me that it’s legitimate – we always, as I have expressed very clearly, see that the law is more often illegitimate than legitimate…)

Another reason cited: It’s the American thing to do (what is this even supposed to mean?) and that it is necessary to protect our freedom. And now we find ourselves at a contradiction.

We are supposedly fighting for freedom – yet we force, via the law, every male citizen to have put his name on the draft rolls. A contradiction indeed! If we are indeed based upon volunteerism, we should be able to CHOOSE between putting our names and not putting our names. Do the rights of the collective trump individual rights? We are running into dangerous territory if we say that yes, they do. If you feel it necessary to volunteer your service in time of need, that is honorable, don’t misunderstand me – but there should be no feeling of obligation to do so.

At least be consistent: If you think that governments have the ability to force you to sign up on draft rolls, then you also should say that they have the ability to force you into health insurance. But conservatives support one and are against the other – even the conservatives are not without immense contradictions!

I know that the likelihood of the draft being called into use is unlikely. Still, in our days of rampant uncertainty, we must be careful not to jump to such conclusions. I hesitate very much to do the dirty bidding of governments! After all, when was the last war where American freedom was threatened directly, and not just us sticking our nose into the business of other nations?

As always, your comments on this subject, for or against, are requested and appreciated !

Leave a Reply

