An Adventure in Absurdity, #1

( Certainly not groundbreaking national politics – but a local matter, which I would very much like to comment on. And indeed, this is a very impromptu post, pushed ahead of the others scheduled due to its importance – )

A few thousand or more sleepy teenagers breathed a collective sigh of relief when it was announced over the loudspeakers that they would not have to cut into summer to make up the snow days. Instead, an additional ten minutes will be added to each school day to make up for the couple snow days.

Normally this would not be a problem, but my first thought was, Where will it stop?! Will kids in a few years have to spend every hour of daylight in the peculiar-smelling public schools?

And I think there is a reason for it – and it’s not just because of snow days.

I fully believe that they who are in charge want to exert as much control as possible over the kids. Perhaps I sound like a conspiracy theorist – but one cannot deny the growing influence of the public school in the student’s life, and I think it’s no accident.

My solution? Well, I could propose any number of solutions to the snow day problem, but considering the public school has a zero-tolerance policy on common sense, I doubt my ideas will get very far. But I will still voice my favorite.

Just leaving it be. I don’t suppose that two days or how many it actually is that important. What would we have done in those days? If a couple of days are lopped off from the school year, will the students be deprived of their education? Of course not, so just ignore the problem here, which isn’t actually a problem.

And how much do you want to wager, friends, that next school year they will conveniently forget to reduce the school day back to its proper length? It’s like a tax – once it starts it never goes away. I know it seems trivial, but we must stand for something or we will be walked all over.

As always, comments appreciated.

6 thoughts on “An Adventure in Absurdity, #1”

  1. I have to say, I was very irritated with the extension in the first place, but that was simply due to the fact that I have a zero hour and don’t leave the house until 7:10 to get there just in time for class to start at 7:25, but your argument makes a lot of sense. I have to say I agree with you. More than anything I have to say I agree that they won’t bother reducing it back to the original schedule next year. Where would the school system be without the irritated and oppressed (for lack of a better word) students it ‘shelters’?

    1. Thank you for your comment.

      It will be very troublesome for the zero hour students. As if they weren’t there too early to begin with. Well, what else could we expect from a government run institution?

      With greetings !

  2. I agree entirely.
    I mean seriously if we have two more days of school at the end of the year, that just means two more days of PG movies students will have to endure.
    It’s not the students fault the school board doesn’t know what is worthy of a “snow day”, thus they shouldn’t be punished for it.
    It’s two flipping days! Let it go you dingbats on the board!

    1. Yes – for instance, for five years in a row, we have watched Apollo 13 in class. I mean, it’s not a bad film, but I would rather – always – to be at home, where time is effectively spent.

  3. Ths school board discussed different choices. The reason they chose the extra time at the end of the day was bussing, Moore Norman Tech Center scheduling, students with jobs, and athletics. There was input from several areas, and the minutes wi go away next year. The state requires a certain amount of school days a year, and I would sure rather be out before Memorial Day than go to school until June.

    1. Thank you for your comment.

      Clearly it was stated at the outset of the year – for junior high and high school – that minutes we added to accomodate for the weather days. But, conviniently, those are forgotten.

      And imagine my frustration when the minimum time, mandated by the laws, is spent not learning but watching movies and simply, sitting there, a warm body in a chair. In this sense it isn’t at all about academic standards – it’s just a business and always will be.

      If I was running the system I would solve everything by just shortening the year entirely, especially considering that it would save public money and would give teenagers more time to work. But I’m not – at an early age I was infected with a bad case of logic.

      I would rather be out before memorial day just the same – but I don’t want to be at school ALL DAY when I am there either.

      With Greetings !

Leave a Reply

